Gluten and Dairy Free Green Bean Casserole

Green Bean Casserole - Dairy and Gluten Free - includes recipe for homemade French Fried Onions and Cream of Mushroom Soup - ADHD diet - Thanksgiving and Christmas holiday meal side dish

Green Bean Casserole is my favorite Thanksgiving food.  I have a hard time envisioning my son going without it this year now that we are aware of his food sensitivities.  I put this dish together ahead of time as part of a make-ahead Thanksgiving meal that we’ll take with when we visit relatives this holiday.  Since I only needed to make enough to accommodate my 8-year-old son for a few dinners (and swipe some for my dairy-free toddler), the quantity is small – the entire thing fits well in a 4-cup container.  So if you need more, you can easily double the ingredients.

The directions for Green Bean Casserole are fairly simple.  Traditionally you would mix green beans, cream of mushroom soup, milk, pepper, and French fried onions together and bake at 350˚F until they’re hot.  Then you take it out, stir, add a little more French fried onions to the top and bake it some more just until the onions turn golden on the edges.

You can certainly bake my version.  However I’m a big fan of the microwave.  I try to cut corners where I can.  Where traditional western dieters would simply crack open a “cream of” and a can of French’s, I end up making those ingredients from scratch.  So I try to take myself out of the stone age every once in a while.  Ah, made-from-scratch.  It’s a labor of love.  Although sometimes I’m not sure if it’s love for my son or for green bean casserole.

This is what you’ll need for my recipe:

  • Gluten and dairy free French fried onions (recipe below)
  • Gluten and dairy free cream sauce (recipe below)
  • Two 14.5 oz CANS!! of green beans

Now mix and nuke.  Or reserve some French fried onions for the top and nuke.  Or reserve all the French fried onions for the top and nuke.  Or use any of these variations of onion in/on top and bake.  Or nuke then bake the onions on top.  Go nuts.  There is no magical or set-in-stone way to do this, people!

– – – – – – – – –

GLUTEN AND DAIRY FREE FRENCH FRIED ONIONS

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup gluten free flour baking mix (mine had xantham gum already added)
  • 1/2 cup Apple Cider Vinegar
  • 6 Tbps milk or milk substitute
  • One medium-large onion, shredded on a cheese shredder (this is a good time to bust out the onion goggles)
  • Coconut oil for deep fat frying (I used a small pot and about 14 oz oil to allow a few inches of room to drop the onions)

Directions:

  1. Start heating your coconut oil slowly (medium heat) to get it between 300-350˚F.  Keep an eye on it using a candy thermometer.  Above 350˚F it burns.  You don’t want that.
  2. Mix flour, vinegar and milk until smooth.  Add shredded onion and stir in, evenly coating.
  3. Using a whisk, scoop small amounts of the breaded onion mix and drop/shake it by tiny blobs into the oil in small batches to keep the batter from clumping.  Cook until golden brown (3-5) minutes.  Scoop the fried onions out using a slotted metal spoon or small strainer and cool on paper towels.

If your onion/batter mixture gets lumped together in the oil, it’s no big deal.  You can pull it apart into smaller pieces once it’s done frying and cooled off a bit – it will still be tasty.  As you can see I’ve experienced this.

Make sure to turn on a fan or open the window.  Between the onion and vinegar the cooking process can be a little tough on the eyes.  I didn’t notice this standing in front of the stove, even without the onion goggles, but my husband and son sure did in other rooms of the house.  As my son dug around with his eyes closed searching for the onion goggles he made quite a bit of racket.

But that didn’t stop anyone in the house from trying the French fried onions.  I had to cut my son and daughter off or else there wouldn’t be anything left for the casserole!

– – – – – – – – –

GLUTEN AND DAIRY FREE CREAM SAUCE
Traditionally Green Bean Casserole uses cream of mushroom soup.  My cream sauce has everything but the mushrooms for those who don’t care for them (like my son).  If you’d like cream of mushroom, simply stir in about 1/3 – 1/2 cup diced sautéed mushrooms at the end.

Ingredients:

  • 2 Tbps butter replacer
  • 2 Tbsps gluten-free all-purpose baking flour (mine had xantham gum already added)
  • 1 cup milk replacer – I used coconut creamer to make it extra thick
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/8 tsp pepper
  • Dash Worcestershire sauce
  • 3 shakes onion powder
  • 3 shakes garlic powder

Directions:

  1. Set pan to low heat, melt butter.  Add the flour and stir with a whisk until smooth.  Continue to stir until mixture starts to bubble.
  2. Add milk a little at a time, stirring into butter/flour mix and making sure the consistency stays smooth.
  3. While stirring, heat butter/flour/milk mixture to a boil, remove from heat.
  4. Stir in remaining ingredients.

– – – – – – – – –

Follow me on Pinterest: ADHD NATURAL MAMMA

 

 

Leave a Reply

